The African American Mayors Association (AAMA) is the only organization exclusively representing African-American mayors in the United States. AAMA exists to empower local leaders for the benefit of their citizens. The role of the African American Mayors Association includes taking positions on public policies that impact the vitality and sustainability of cities; providing mayors with leadership and management tools; and creating a forum for member mayors to share best practices related to municipal management.

AAMA History

The African American Mayors Association (AAMA) was launched on May 1, 2014 in Washington D.C. by a dynamic group of black mayors led by Sacramento, CA Mayor Kevin Johnson. AAMA was founded on the principles of transparency and accountability, which honors the rich legacy of black mayors including Maynard Jackson (Atlanta, GA), Ambassador Andrew Young, (Atlanta, GA), A.J. Cooper (Prichard, AL), Johnny Ford (Tuskegee, Alabama), and Wellington Webb (Denver, CO).

The Founding Board of Trustees of the AAMA was comprised of the following mayors

  • Mayor Kevin Johnson, President (Sacramento, CA)
  • Mayor William Bell, 1st Vice President (Birmingham, AL)
  • Mayor Steve Benjamin, 2nd Vice President (Columbia, SC)
  • Mayor Michael Coleman (Columbus, OH)
  • Mayor Patrick Green, Treasurer (Normandy, MO)
  • Mayor William Johnson, Secretary (Holly Hill, SC)
  • Mayor Alvin Brown (Jacksonville, FL)
  • Mayor Ed Brown (St. Joseph, LA)
  • Mayor William V. Bell (Durham, NC)
  • Mayor Johnny Ford (Tuskegee, AL)
  • Mayor Oliver Gilbert (Miami Gardens, FL)
  • Mayor Cedric B. Glover (Shreveport, LA)
  • Mayor Sly James (Kansas City, MO)
  • Mayor Jacqueline Goodall (Forest Heights, MD)
  • Mayor John White (Ames, TX)
  • Mayor Tony Yarber (Jackson, MS)
  • Founding Executive Director: Stephanie Mash Sykes